Throughout the year, the Montevallo fishing team competed in tournaments against some of the biggest universities in the country and earned points based on their performance. After the season finale in Lake Murray, South Carolina on May 27, UM had the most cumulative points of any team in the country, earning the team’s first school of the year honor.

Montevallo finished second in the School of the Year standings last season. This season, the team eliminated reigning two-time national champion McKendree University of Lebanon, Illinois, and topped top universities, such as the University of Tennessee, Auburn University and East Carolina University en route to this year’s national crown.

Here is the full national ranking for the 2020-2021 season.

The University of Montevallo sea bass fishing team 2020-2021

Justin Barnes, senior, Monroeville

Jarrett Brown, senior, Montevallo

Adam Carroll, senior, Carrollton, GA

Tyler Harless, senior, Helena

Miller Spivey, senior, Tyler

Hunter Ward, senior, Rockford

Weston Hollar, junior, Dadeville

Jack Baron, junior, Arnold, Maryland

Cal Culpepper, junior, Hamilton, GA

Trey Dickert, junior, Greer, South Carolina

Cade Holcomb, junior, Helena

Bradley Martin, junior, Pace, Florida

Da’Kendrick Patterson, junior, Rowing

Kopeland Rosser, junior, Helena

Elliot Torode, junior, Montgomery

Drew Traffanstedt, junior, Hoover

Mason Waddell, junior, Waverly Hall, Georgia

Cole Dodson, second year, Gardendale

Merritt Arnold, sophomore, Warkinsville, GA

Jaxson Brown, second year, Birmingham

Tyler Cain, second year, Bessemer

Josiah Campbell, sophomore, Pelham

Solomon Glenn, sophomore, Lakeville, Minnesota

Wesley Gore, second year, Clanton

Trent Jones, sophomore, Thorsby

Ethan King, sophomore, Wilsonville

Grayson Morris, second year, Birmingham

Chandler Olivier, second year, Maylene

Griffin Phillips, second year, Mount Olive

Chance Schwartz, sophomore, Ball Ground, Georgia

James Willoughby, sophomore, Gulf Port, Mississippi

Kyle Bahr, freshman, Brainerd, Minnesota

Aaron Cherry, freshman, Kinsey

Tyler Cory, freshman, Amherst, Wisconsin

Nick Dumke, freshman, Grand Rapids, Minnesota

Tanner English, first year, Centerville

Easton Fothergill, freshman, Grand Rapids, Minnesota

Brenton Godwin, freshman, Stapleton

Brock Gullixon, freshman, Iola, Wisconsin

Chandler Holt, freshman, Sterrett

Andrew Howell, freshman, Pisgah Forest, North Carolina

Tommy Loper, freshman, Perkinston, Mississippi

Hagan Marlin, first year, Opelika

Hunter Odom, freshman, Chunchula

Jordan Pennington, first year, Bessemer

Jacob Pfundt, freshman, Canton, Georgia

Jackson Pontius, freshman, Wilsonville

Scott Sledge, freshman, Greenwood, Indiana

Davian Smith, freshman, Eufaula

Ryan Thomas, freshman, Madison, Georgia

Riley Underwood, freshman, Hoover

(Courtesy of Alabama News Center)

About The Author

Related Posts