County pitcher Patrick Curran (2-10) and county footballer Michael Kiely (3-2) sacked Dungarvan for a ten-point victory over rivals Abbeyside in front of 1,500 fans at Fraher Field on Sunday.

Kiely scored five goals in three games for the Blues while Curran converted two penalties in the second half.

The Blues haven’t reached a county final since 2012 and now Roanmore stands in their way to Walsh Park next Sunday.

Everything was square at the break (2-7 to 0-13) with these rivals on the other side of town who equalized six times in the first half.

Two points each from Michael Kiely and David Collins gave Abbeyside a 4-2 advantage, helped by the wind. In the 12th minute, Kieran Power threw a ball high into the square which was knocked down by Abbeyside goalkeeper Stephen Enright and Michael Kiely slipped into the net. Gavin Crotty came behind cover to prepare Kiely for his second goal in the 21st minute.

At the stroke of halftime, Enright saved Crotty and Michael O’Halloran pointed the other end. The villagers got the last four points of the half to level things off.

Darragh Lyons scored a point on his 65th birthday after the start of the second period while Kiely and Crotty scored wonderful points on either side. Crotty was then fouled for two penalties and Patrick Curran made no mistakes with both efforts – he sent one to the right corner and one to the left corner to open a 4-12 lead to 0-17 on the second break in the water.

Waterford captain Conor Prunty moved to Abbeyside center-forward for the final quarter. He saw a late deflected shot for a 65. Curran added four points to his total. Patrick Hurney netted a consolation goal in the 59th minute before Kiely finished his hat trick on the other end a minute into added time.

Scorers for Dungarvan: P Curran 2-10 (2-0 pens, 6fs), M Kiely 3-2, G Crotty 0-2, D Lyon, Colm Curran 0-1 each.

Scorers for Abbeyside: M Ferncombe 0-7 (5fs), P Hurney 1-1, M O’Halloran, M Kiely (f) 0-3 each, D Collins 0-2, J Elsted, R Foley 0-1 each.

DUNGARVAN D Duggan; G Power, J Curran, K Moore; J Nagle, D Lyon, K Power; K Daly, J Lacey; Colm Curran, P Curran, J Allen; G Crotty, M Kiely, Cathal Curran.

Subs: J Burke for J Allen (52), T Loftus for Colm Curran (63), J Duggan for Crotty (63), S Ryan for Nagle (64).

ABBEYSIDE: S Enright; D Montgomery, D McGrath, B Looby; M Twomey, C Prunty, D Collins; M O’Halloran, J Elsted; N Montgomery, R Foley, S Whelan-Barrett; M Kiely, M Ferncombe, W Beresford.

Subs: S Cliffe for Whelan-Barrett (36), P Hurney for Beresford (41).

Referee: A Fitzgerald